Smarmy Alligator

Politics, pop culture, and self-deprecation

Right, I forgot all about this voxy thing

leave a comment »

You know, I completely forgot I had anything up here at all. Too many social networking sites, I tell ya. But I thought a quick update might be nice for anyone who, er, cares.

Life has been crazy hectic here. I keep thinking of what Crystal always says, that no matter how long we are out of school, there is something about this time of year that encourages transitions. And I'm sure that will be even more true now that I'm going back to school.

I still can't quite believe Crystal's moving to Spain. I think I'm emotionally in denial because I don't know what I'm going to do without her. I won't even elaborate on how much it's freaking me out.

Our new housemate, Amelia, is pretty cool, although she is really, really young. She just moved out here from Santa Cruz to go to law school (we're all about the California Contingent), but she's only 22. On the phone we thought she seemed really mature, and she is, relatively. But she's still only 22, and that show sometimes. I'm sure it will be different once school starts and we're all busy, but this summer she's not really doing anything but hanging out around the house. And she doesn't really know anyone in Boston yet, so she just kind of tags along with us everywhere. Which is ok, just sometimes overwhelming. And we still have to find another new housemate to take Crystal's room when she leaves.

I only have three weeks left of work, and then three weeks of vacation, and then I start school. Whoohooo! I'm pretty excited–mostly excited to quit my stupid job. I keep having funny anxiety-about-school dreams, like that I forget to go to class for the entire semester and then have to take a final. Or that I'm late for every class and can't do any of the reading on time. I'm sure none of that will happen, but it has been a long, long time since I was a student.

So that's what's going on around these parts these days. I've been a bit drained by all the transitioning and change makes me a moody, grumpy girl, but I'm sure I'll be fine. Sigh.

Read and post comments

Written by laura k

July 19, 2007 at 4:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

